samuel x. brase likes to write

Caravan

Posted in novel planning by Sam X. on 26 July 2009
The gauntlet I threw down a few weeks ago is being met. The first third of the novel, Act I, is written in rough form, clocking in just shy of 30,000 words. Some of the writing is pretty shaky, but that’s what happens when I pound it out in 7 weeks. I’ve done some editing, but more needs to be done. Still, I’m extremely proud of what I’ve accomplished thus far; I’ve never gotten this far on a single writing project. The most exciting part is I know what it takes to write 100 pages now: doing that a couple more times and finishing this book out doesn’t daunt me in the least.
The second act is well planned, I can see finishing it by my birthday (Sept 21). My concerns lie with the third act, of which I have only a few ideas about. I have a number of action sequences imagined, but no established tension, no big reveals. My worry is that the second act is so loaded that there’s nothing left for the finale.
Let’s take a look here. I can’t spoil a ton because the plot is all I got, but…. Okay, so I broke down the major actions for the rest of the novel and there are three of them. I think my problem stems from the lack of a fourth major action; without it, one act would be very heavy in comparison to the other. I need to figure out a fourth action, probably a smaller one, like an initial skirmish between the two sides.
(Three hours later) And I’m back. I decided that instead of a contrived fourth action, I’ll simply amplify the first action beat in the second act and move some of the others around. I have a very rough (very, very, very rough) outline of the second and third acts, which I think will work better. It spreads some of the major actions from the second act into the third and elucidates on some events I hadn’t fully thought out.
Tomorrow I’m going to try and elaborate on this basic outline I have created while inebriated. If it gels, fantastic. I expect it to. There is ample room for the character development that is necessary, and ample room for exciting moments.
God this novel is going to be great.
If I can pull it off.

The gauntlet I threw down a few weeks ago is being met. The first third of the novel, Act I, is written in rough form, clocking in just shy of 30,000 words. Some of the writing is pretty shaky, but that’s what happens when I pound it out in 7 weeks. I’ve done some editing, but more needs to be done. Still, I’m extremely proud of what I’ve accomplished thus far; I’ve never gotten this far on a single writing project. The most exciting part is I know what it takes to write 100 pages now: doing that a couple more times and finishing this book out doesn’t daunt me in the least.

The second act is well planned, I can see finishing it by my birthday (Sept 21). My concerns lie with the third act, of which I have only a few ideas about. I have a number of action sequences imagined, but no established tension, no big reveals. My worry is that the second act is so loaded that there’s nothing left for the finale.

Let’s take a look here. I can’t spoil a ton because the plot is all I got, but…. Okay, so I broke down the major actions for the rest of the novel and there are three of them. I think my problem stems from the lack of a fourth major action; without it, one act would be very heavy in comparison to the other. I need to figure out a fourth action, probably a smaller one, like an initial skirmish between the two sides.

(Three hours later) And I’m back. I decided that instead of a contrived fourth action, I’ll simply amplify the first action beat in the second act and move some of the others around. I have a very rough (very, very, very rough) outline of the second and third acts, which I think will work better. It spreads some of the major actions from the second act into the third and elucidates on some events I hadn’t fully thought out.

Tomorrow I’m going to try and elaborate on this basic outline I have created while inebriated. If it gels, fantastic. I expect it to. There is ample room for the character development that is necessary, and ample room for exciting moments.

God this novel is going to be great.

If I can pull it off.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

